Coconut Lime Banana Bread

I’ve made this banana bread three times in the last three weeks so it’s definitely time to share the recipe.

It’s a basically banana bread with a tropical twist because it has a hefty amount of lime juice, rum! (optional) and some coconut.  The obsession with this bread all started when we bought too many bananas after cyclone Yasi hit Queensland because we were afraid we wouldn’t be able to buy them for a while, at least not at $3/kilo.  I ended up having a few left over bananas at the end of the week that were too brown to eat but just perfect for banana bread.  My boyfriend’s cousin bakes all the time and said that this recipe had her stamp of approval so we tried it and loved it.  I’ve been buying extra bananas every week now hoping that no one will eat them and I’ll have another excuse to make the bread…and so far so good because it’s happened for the past 3 weeks!

Coconut Lime Banana Bread

Recipe Adapted from Cake Bible

Ingredients

Bread:

  • 8 Tbs (120g) softened butter
  • ¾ cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup mashed bananas (2 normal sized)
  • 3 Tbs buttermilk (I make my own with 1/3 cup milk + 1/3 Tbs white vinegar)
  • 1 Tbs fresh lime juice
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp ground ginger
  • 2 cups self rising flour
  • ½ tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • ½ cup shaved coconut

Glaze:

  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • 1 Tbs rum (optional)
  • 1 Tbs butter
  • 3 Tbs fresh lime juice

Preparation

Preheat the oven to 350F (175C).  Lightly grease a loaf pan and line the base with baking paper.

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy with an electric mixer.  Stir in the eggs, mashed banana, buttermilk and lime juice and combine.  Sift the salt, ginger and flour into a mixing bowl with the bicarbonate of soda.  Stir into the batter and combine until smooth.  Stir in the coconut. Spoon into prepared pan and sprinkle with a little more coconut.  Bake for 55 minutes.  Allow cake to stand for 10 minutes before turning out onto a rack.

Meanwhile, heat all the glaze ingredients in a saucepan.  Stir for about 5 minutes to form a smooth syrup.

Coat the top and sides of the cake with the glaze.  Serve while warm or at room temperature.

7 responses to “Coconut Lime Banana Bread

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz

    This sounds amazing! I love all the flavors together!

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever had lime with banana before. The rum is helping to tie the flavors together in my head. I must try it immediately and thankfully, I have about 20 bananas in my freezer since we never eat them all and I rarely get around to making banana bread out of them. This recipe will help inspire me.

  3. Nice combo of flavors, creative!

  4. Wow, I will be making this bread. It sounds fabulous.

  5. Pingback: Old French Fig Cake | Wanderlust for Food

  6. Made this bread this morning and wow is it good! Repeats guaranteed. Thank you!

  7. Nice recipe

    I am definately going to try this next time. The last version of Banana Bread I made was the below and that was quiet nice also.
    http://www.wascene.com/food-drink/delicious-banana-bread-recipe/

    Thanks for Sharing.

    Kari

Leave a Reply

