Adriano Zumbo Macaroons – Sydney

(This photo by Tayte Hampton)

I found a list in the Sydney Morning Herald of  ’50 Things Every Sydney Food Lover Should Try’ and decided I would try to knock out a few on my most recent trip to Sydney.  Since I was staying with friends in Balmain, Adriano Zumbo’s patisserie was a natural first choice to check off the list.

Adriano Zumbo rose to fame in Australia after his appearances on MasterChef, where contestants had to recreate his macaroon tower of 120 macaroons!

In 2007 he opened a French inspired patisserie on Darling Streeet in Balmain.  It’s a tiny shop that’s sandwiched between a pharmacy and a bottle-o that you could easily miss, if it weren’t for the crowd inside that sometimes forms a line out the door.

I went for the macaroons since they are all the rage these days.  Finally there’s something worthy of dethroning the mighty cupcake! At $2 a pop, Adriano’s macaroons were a bit ‘dear’ as the Australians say (dear = pricey).  I opted for the pancake and maple flavor as well as the ginger beer flavor.  While they were the best macarons I’ve ever had, I still doubt that I’ll be rushing to his hot little shop in Balmain to buy anymore unless they have the burnt toast flavor, which I definitely want to try!

After spending $4 on two bites of macarons I didn’t feel like trying any of his other famed baked goods, but they all looked fantastic.

Here’s where to find them if you are in the mood for an outrageous macaroon:

296 Darling Street
Balmain, NSW 2040
(02) 9810 7318

One response to “Adriano Zumbo Macaroons – Sydney

  1. yeah, at that price, definitely something to eat in moderation, but wish I could try them all the same!

Leave a Reply

