Vegemite – love it or hate it

So I have some news – I just moved to Australia!  I’m living in Brisbane where my boyfriend is from and I couldn’t be more excited.  In honor of the big news, I decided to write about the most quintessential Australian cuisine that came to mind….VEGEMITE.

Leave it to the Aussies to figure out a way to create a spread from brewers’ yeast (a by product of beer manufacturing), which just so happens to be the world’s richest source of vitamin B!  The spread dates back to 1922 when it was first created by the Fred Walker Company, which later went on to become Kraft.  Anyone who has tasted Vegemite for the first time understands why it took 14 years for this product to catch on in the Australian market.  In fact, in 1935 Kraft started to give the stuff away for free and even gave away a few Pontiacs just to drum up some interest in the product – but it finally caught on and now the Aussies defend its taste so vehemenently when someone doesn’t instantly like Vegemite that you’d never guess it took their ancestors 14 years to warm up to it.

I like salty things, which is why I actually enjoy Vegemite in very small doses every now and then.  The best way that I can describe the taste is like a condensed soy sauce, or beef bouillon, but I can tell you from experience that the taste is so condensed that you really do only need the tiniest amount to get the full effect of the taste.

I like mine on toast with butter, but for the more adventurous the Vegemite website was kind enough to provide us with some recipes containing Vegemite for all meals of the day, such as Vegemite Pizza, Vegemite Scrolls, and even Roast Pumpkin & Leek Risotto!

Vegemite Scroll (This photo: http://www.bakersdelight.co.nz)

Here are a few tips on how to properly make Vegemite on toast – if you follow these steps you might actually like it!

1. Spread butter as you normally would on your toast.

2. Spread a layer of vegemite that is thinner than your layer of butter.  Now this is where a lot of us non-Aussies go wrong because we are used to spreading jam, peanut butter, and nutella in copious amounts all over our toast.  Vegemite is so potent that you only need the tiniest amount!

2 responses to “Vegemite – love it or hate it

  1. I’ve never tried vegemite… to be honest, I don’t know if I ever will, haha. I suppose one day, if I ever get to Australia I will.

  2. I’ve never tried it, but I remember my next-door-neighbor having it in her house. Seems so random! 🙂

Leave a Reply

