Spicy-and-Garlicy Brussels Sprouts

I had never seen brussels sprouts on the stalk before until Trader Joes got a huge delivery of them the other day.  In honor of my mom, who has always been a die-hard brussels sprout fan even though every time she ever served them to us we whined and moaned about how horrible they were. I decided I would give these little pests from my childhood another shot – this time a fair shot because I was going to cook them just how I wanted them, SPICY.

I looked at several recipes and even though the ones that required the sprouts to be fried in bacon fat (which I have!) looked very tempting, I decided to err on the healthy side and use the recipe from November’s Food & Wine.

Spicy-and-Garlicy Brussels Sprouts recipe adapted from Food & Wine.

Ingredients:

  • 1 stalk of Brussels sprouts (about 30 sprouts)
  • 2 Tbsp of vegetable oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, smashed
  • 1 Tbsp + 1 tsp crushed red pepper
  • Salt to taste

Preparation:

1. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil.

2.  Cut all the Brussels sprouts in half.

3. Add the brussels sprouts to the boiling water and cook until bright green, 2 minutes. Drain well and pat dry.

4. In a large, deep skillet, heat 1 tablespoon of the oil until shimmering. Add half of the garlic and half of the brussels sprouts and cook over high heat undisturbed for 1 minute. Add half of the crushed red pepper, season with salt and cook over moderate heat, stirring a few times, until the brussels sprouts are browned and tender, about 3 minutes. Transfer to a serving bowl. Repeat with the remaining oil, garlic, brussels sprouts and crushed red pepper. Serve warm.

I liked these so much that I’m going to try David Chang’s Spicy Brussels Sprouts with Mint from Momofuku Ssäm Bar next time!  Making my mom proud…one sprout at a time.

3 responses to “Spicy-and-Garlicy Brussels Sprouts

  1. Barbara Tillery

    As your mother, I’m sorry to have subjected you to such torture by serving you my favorite veggie! I am glad you have given them a second chance.

  2. Laura These look great. I have a thing for Brussels. Unfortunatly garlic is a fav also. I feel sorry for all my friends and family because I cook with it all the time. Aren’t they great on the stalk.. Happy Holidays..B

  3. This certainly makes brussels sprouts look good! I have never seen them on a stalk before.

Leave a Reply

