FFwD: Sweet & Spicy Cocktail Nuts

I took the easy route this week with the Sweet & Spicy Cocktail Nuts since the recipes for FFwD weren’t posted in time for me to make one of the more challenging dishes over the weekend.

I struggled with how cocktail nuts could be considered French cooking but Dorie says that the reason she included these nuts in her Around My French Table cookbook (p. 18) is because cocktail nuts are always served in France when you go to a party or restaurant even though they are very expensive to buy there.  It’s something that I probably would have never noticed but the nuts remind Dorie of France and I’m sure now that I know about them I’ll take notice of them in French restaurants and bars if I ever get to go there.

I’d never thought about how yummy flavored cocktail nuts were made until I saw this recipe and was surprised how easy it is.  It’s as simple as tossing whatever nuts you want to use in egg whites and then tossing in enough sugar mixed with spices to coat the nuts in a delicious goo.  Then you bake them at 300 F for 30 minutes and they are ready to party!

The sugar & spice mixture is perfect for experimenting, but I started with her mixture of mainly sugar with chili powder, salt, cinnamon, and cayenne pepper that was in the book since it looked so good!  All it needed was something sour like lime thrown in to cover all of the tastes (sweet, salty, spicy, sour) but I think that might not have been considered a bonne idée (trans: good idea) as Dorie says.  Next time I’ll try my Chinese 5 Spice mix or maybe some curry powder.

One tip that I learned from making them is to take Dorie seriously when she says to shake the excess goo off of the nuts one by one before putting them on the baking sheet.  If you don’t all of your nuts will be stuck together on the baking sheet and you’ll have to break them all apart after they come out of the oven.

9 responses to “FFwD: Sweet & Spicy Cocktail Nuts

  1. Thanks for the tips. I plan to make these nuts next and I appreciate knowing what to be careful about. Your look delish!

  2. Thank you – one of the benefits of sitting next to you at work is I get to be a taste tester. DELISH!!!

  3. These were so yummy! I agree that it will be fun to try new spices next time too. I made a double batch and they still got gobbled up in no time flat!

  4. I tried the cardamom and loved it but also suggested the inclusion of lime. Great minds!
    Trevor Sis. Boom.

  5. Yes, I was an impatient one… and ended up with a giant dark puddle that was time-consuming in breaking apart! 🙂 Yours look great – glad you enjoyed them!

  6. I really enjoyed these, too. But there’s no way I was going to take the time to wipe off each nut. It was easier just to break them apart at the end. I’m going to try different spices next time.

  7. I think that we connect to food emotionally, and if you, for example, had your first kiss with your future husband over fajitas in an American joint, that is going to be an American dish for you (especially if you have never tasted fajitas earlier:)
    I have never been to France and I have to take Dorie’s word for the spiced nuts being the ubiquitous French food. But they seem so delicious that I have no reason to doubt her.
    I’ll take your advice to heart when I attempt to make these (probably in a day or two) and listen to Dorie about separating the nuts.
    I cannot wait to make cashews even tastier!

  8. great pic. gotta get Dorie’s book!

  9. These sound delicious! What a great holiday snack!

Leave a Reply

