FFwD: Roast Chicken for Les Paresseux

I was excited to see that the translation for this FFwD recipe’s title is ‘Roast Chicken for Lazy People’ because I hoped that it would teach me how to make a roast chicken even easier than it already is.  Even though it didn’t make it any easier (an impossible feat since it’s ridiculously simple), I still learned a fabulous new trick, which is to place baguette rounds under the chicken in the pan before putting it in the oven.

When the chicken comes out of the oven the baguette rounds have absorbed all of the flavor from the chicken and the herbs that are stuffed in the chicken.  The baguette crisps up on the bottom but is soft on top, making the perfect textural combination.  Dorie was right when she said to eat these quickly before anyone else comes into the kitchen and finds out about them!  They were so tasty that I would seriously consider buying another whole chicken just to be able to taste the goodness again.  It was perfection.  Ok so enough of the rant but that’s pretty much the best thing I learned from this roast chicken recipe.

For those of you who don’t know how to roast a chicken you will be surprised at how easy it really is:

*Please note this cooking time is for a 5lb whole chicken

  • No need to wash the bird – Dorie explains why in Around My French Table
  • Rub the bird with salt and pepper
  • Stick garlic, rosemary, thyme, sage in the cavity of the chicken
  • Put some more herbs around the bird in the pan & a vertically sliced whole bunch of garlic (see picture below). Add a few tablespoons of oil, white wine (or water) to the pan.
  • Bake the bird at 450F for 45 minutes (some say 350F but 450 works the best for a crispy skin)
  • Some say to flip the bird over after 45 minutes but I was a lazy person and didn’t.  It turned out fine. Surround the bird with potatoes, onions, carrots and put back in the oven for about 45 minutes or until the juices run clear (instead of pink or red) when the meat is pierced.

She's ready for the big dance....

The baguette rounds - my new favorite part of roasting a chicken!

Here’s an instructional video from howdini if you need more help:

13 responses to “FFwD: Roast Chicken for Les Paresseux

  1. Everything looks great! I love your golden chicken!
    I made the flans this week.

  2. I should have used a roasting pan. Great idea with alot more room. Your meal looks great as usual when can I come for dinner???? B

  3. Beautiful chicken and your bread looks as yummy as mine tasted! Love that little trick!!

  4. Yep…the bread is the best part.

  5. So glad you enjoyed this one. I loved it… especially the bread! 😉

  6. Your bird looks beautifully roasted…very appetizing.

  7. Oh how I wish the bread turned out for me! Your chicken looks perfect!

  8. Your chicken looks delicious!!!!!! Can’t wait to try the baguette rounds!

  9. I agree, it’s worth roasting this chicken just for the bread, especially when you spread it with the liver as Dorie suggests. Your chicken looks great!!

  10. Your bread turned out perfect too! Yes, I think the roasting pan helped on the bread too as so many complained of sogginess. Such a great color!
    Trevor Sis. Boom.

  11. I loved the bread too! I think that was my favorite part 🙂 Great job!

  12. How can I not make the chicken when I see those brown disks from the bottom of your pan? The chicken looks great. And I agree, there would be more room for the vegetables in a roasting pan.

  13. Pretty bird indeed! I loved the roasted, toasted bread on the bottom too. My new favorite way to roast chicken. I enjoyed seeing and reading your post!

Leave a Reply

