FFwD: Pumpkin Gorgonzola Flans

I couldn’t wait until Thanksgiving to make these so for this week’s FFwD post I gave in to my craving for pumpkin that usually starts around the first of November… ok who am I kidding… October and made the pumpkin gorgonzola flans.

Cooking my way through Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table has introduced me to so many new things and with this week’s recipe I not only successfully made my first flans but I also cooked with gorgonzola for the first time.  If you aren’t a huge gorgonzola flan you might want to choose a less offensive cheese, such as goat cheese for this because the gorgonzola really hijacked the taste of this dish even though it did really mellow out while baking.  I guess the pumpkin was just too mild of a flavor to stand up to the gorgonzola, either that or I used way too much cheese.

I love flan for it’s cloud-like consistency but I never thought that it would be easy to make since it seemed so exotic.  Boy was I wrong.  This was hands down the easiest dish I have made so far from Around My French Table.

The list of ingredients is short: eggs, heavy cream, pumpkin puree, walnuts (I used pecans), and gorgonzola.

You blend the eggs, pumpkin puree, and heavy cream until they are blended together.

Then you divide the mixture amongst 4 to 6 ramekins, depending on the size of your ramekins.  I only have 4, so I just filled them all up a little higher.  You then sprinkle the gorgonzola cheese and nuts over the top of each ramekin.  Place the ramekins in a large casserole dish and fill the dish with hot water to surround the ramekins before placing in a 350 oven for 30 minutes.  Allow the flans to completely cool before pulling out of the water-filled casserole dish.

Dorie recommends eating them with a salad, but I just dug right in because I couldn’t wait.

To see what other FFwDers blogged about this week check it out here.

14 responses to “FFwD: Pumpkin Gorgonzola Flans

  1. I like the look of the pecans on top of your flans. I think I’d like to try that on mine next time! Good job 🙂

  2. Your photo is beautiful. I think that if I make this, I will be the only one eating it.

  3. I can’t wait to make this! I have all the ingredients, but got sidetracked this week, as usual, by the dessert recipe. Yours looks yummy.
    🙂

  4. Lovely…they look wonderful! Im excited to try these!

  5. Gorgeous! I can’t wait to make these.

  6. I’ll be tackling this recipe this coming weekend. My local cheese shop carries gorgonzola dolce, which is a younger, and therefore milder, blue cheese – I think I’ll go with that.

  7. Any suggestions for a non-blue cheese? Your flans with the nuts look very tasty!

  8. Too much blue cheese? Is that even possible? I loved this recipe, stinky cheese and all.

  9. Yours came out beautiful! I was surprised how easy these were too.

  10. I love Gorgonzola but even those in my house not crazy about it thought it worked here. Your flans look amazing!
    Trevor Sis. Boom.

  11. I loved these when I made them and yours look delish. Such an easy dish which makes it great for entertaining. Great post they turned out so pretty…B

  12. I was going to make these but couldn’t find fresh pumpkin! Yours look lovely though!

  13. I have to give you a medal: first time making a flan, and first time baking with gorgonzola:) I agree, it is a simple, simple, simple dish to make. I made it last week, and the only regret was that I did not double the recipe:)

  14. Those look yummy. I still can’t imagine the taste as I’ve only had gorgonzola a few times on a salad but I look forward to trying these soon.

Leave a Reply

