FFwD: Marie-Hélène’s Apple Cake

Apple season is in full force right now so it was the perfect time to make Marie-Hélène’s Apple Cake! For those of you who don’t have Dorie’s Around My French Table cookbook on hand to find out who Marie-Hélène is, she’s the top editor of the Louis Vuitton City Guides and a friend of Dorie.  Since Marie-Hélène never writes down a recipe, Dorie somehow managed to recreate it through trial and error.  I think she really hit the nail on the head with this one since it really allows the apples to take the center stage with just the perfect amount of sugar.

Fortune, Granny Smith, Golden Delicious, & Honey Crisp Apples

The secret to this dish is using 4 different types of apples.  I had about 20 types to choose from at the Dekalb Farmers Market this week so I was pretty spoiled for choice.  I went with Fortune, Granny Smith, Golden Delicious, & Honey Crisp apples because they were listed as good for baking.

Since the recipe called for 3 tablespoons of dark rum I thought I should use a good one. I just so happens that my boyfriend left me enough aged Appleton rum for the cake.  I thought the name was fitting.

Mixture of ingredients before going into the pan

This cake was definitely an easy one to put together with very few ingredients and did not require any fancy kitchen equipment – not even an electric mixer! The trickest part of the whole cake was getting it off the springform pan and onto a plate to take to work! (For the detailed recipe check it out in Around My French Table)

I used a 9in springform pan instead of the 8in one that Dorie recommends, which is why mine turned out bit flatter than the one pictured in the book but it still turned out well.  I also read that a few of the other bloggers in the group browned the butter before incorporating it into the wet mixture which gave the cake a nice brown color.

Cinnamon whipped cream was the perfect sidekick for this delicious cake.

13 responses to “FFwD: Marie-Hélène’s Apple Cake

  1. Loved all the apples floating on the top of your cake. I love honey crisp for baking. Yours looks fabulous and the addition of cinnamon to the cream was a great thought. B

  2. Great job! Your cake looks just like Dorie’s.

  3. I was not allowed to bring the leftovers to work as I usually do with this one!
    Trevor Sis Boom.

  4. Yours looks great! I loved it too!! Happy baking!

  5. I love that yours is flat, too! I keep looking at everyone elses’s fluffier cakes and worrying that I did something wrong. I used an 8 1/2 inch springform and it still looked kind of flat. Still sooooo yummy. But flat. Yay for yummy flat cakes!

  6. Cinnamon whip cream…oh that sounds delcious! Your cake looks great!

  7. Mmmm, both the rum and that cinnamon whipped cream sound fantastic! 🙂 Great looking cake!

  8. I love your apple photo….nice job.

  9. Nice job. I loved the cake as well.

  10. lots of apples–looks perfect! i loved how easy this one was.

  11. this is lookin’ to be the dessert of the week… I’m going to have to give it a try!!!
    Great post!

  12. My cake looks like your cake’s slightly chubbier twin. I wish I would have had some cinnamon whipped cream with mine, though!

    Looks great!

  13. cinnamon whipped cream sounds like perfection!

Leave a Reply

