FFwD: Hachis Parmentier

This week’s FFwD recipe, Hachis Parmentier (pronounced ah-she pahr-men-tee-ay) is the ultimate in comfort food which is just what I was in the mood for this week now that the colder weather has set in.  It’s the French version of the traditional shepherd’s pie, which uses a combination of beef steak and sausage in the filling.  The more ambitious recipe was to create your own beef broth by boiling the steak with herbs and a few veggies and then chopping the steak up to go into the filling with the sausage.   Thankfully, Dorie provided a nice shortcut (bonne idée = good idea) of using ground beef and store-bought beef stock for the filling.  She said it would taste almost the same if you added fresh parsley, thyme, and a little garlic to the mix.  Next time I promise I’ll make it the long way but it just didn’t happen this week.

Despite the difficult to pronounce name, there was nothing complicated about making this dish.  If you can sauté ground beef and sausage together with a little beef broth and make mashed potatoes then you’re all set!  I splurged on some Emmental cheese for the topping and got all the ingredients from our local Dekalb Farmers Market.  I topped the beef filling with a layer of mashed potatoes, then ½ cup of Emmental cheese, some shaved Parmesan, and a few pats of Irish butter and baked it in a 350° oven for 30 minutes.  The whole thing took about an hour  and 15 minutes from start to finish (with 30 minutes of that being oven time) and has 4 large servings.

When it came out of the oven it had a lovely cheesy crust on top of the potatoes that just screamed ‘EAT ME!’.  I didn’t take too many pictures of this before I had to just dive in and eat it, so apologies for the poor photos – it was just too good to wait! Just like a Cadbury Picnic Bar – it’s deliciously ugly…

Tip: be sure to put a cookie sheet lined with foil under the casserole dish because it will bubble over!

10 responses to “FFwD: Hachis Parmentier

  1. I think mine screamed eat me too! You can’t spend too much time taking loads of pics otherwise it goes cold!

  2. Nice job! This was such a great recipe. Definitely not your mother’s shepherd’s pie.

  3. I am jealous…you must have a great farmer’s market if you can get all the ingredients there.

  4. I very much appreciate your posting the pronunciation for this dish. I said it nothing like the way you printed it. Thanks you for that. Next time I make it, I think I’ll take the short cut because it was a bit time consuming. However the taste was right on the money. Yours looks terrific! It makes me hungry looking at it.
    Renee

  5. Mine definitely screamed “Eat me.” And we listened! Yours looks great! Reading all these posts is making me really, really hungry….

  6. Looks delicious. Great photos…. I found it surprisingly easy too.

  7. Deliciously ugly ha ha..Love that comment in your post. True. But wasn’t it good?!? Loved your post as usual. B

  8. Looks absolutely delicious!! 🙂

  9. I came back to see how you did with this and I think you made a good choice to use the shortcut version. I made it the long way and felt somewhat silly by making my leftovers ‘by scratch’. Yours looks so delish!
    Trevor Sis. Boom.

  10. Thanks for the pronunciation. I wish these were on the FFwD site. Your top is so nicely browned.

Leave a Reply

