Pastizzi from Malta

Pastizzi (sing: pastizz) are and insanely addicting filled pastries that hail from the country of Malta, which for those of you who don’t know, is a small group of islands located in the Mediterranean Sea just below Sicily.  There’s a reason that these pastries are the number one culinary export of Malta – because they are amazing pockets of flaky goodness!

I’d never heard of pastizzi before my trip to Sydney, but my friends there know my obsession with food that comes in pockets so they knew that I would love pastizzi!  They were dead on.

They took me to The Original Maltese Café in Darlinghurst, just off Oxford Street on Crown Street.  Luckily, we got there just as the shop was closing and each bought about 6 pastizzi.  Traditionally, pastizzi are made with a ricotta or pea filling but the café had really jazzed them up with all different flavors. I tried the tandoori (my personal favorite), chili con carne, vegetable curry, and chicken curry.  They came with this amazing tomato and garlic dipping sauce that I just couldn’t get enough of.  They also had a spicy pepper sauce that a friend of mine swears by but after having my mouth catch on fire after one dip, I opted to stick with my tomato and garlic sauce.

The pastizzi were flaky on the outside, and warm and chunky on the inside.  I’d say they are similar to pasties but smaller and better.

While I didn’t get the café’s recipe, I did some digging online and found a fairly simple recipe so you can make these at home!  I’ve also been told that some grocery store freezer sections have ricotta pastizzis, so be on the look out!  The recipe I found that is super easy to make uses puff pastry, which isn’t as authentic as making the pastry yourself, but after watching this video on how pastizzi dough is made, you’ll want to just use puff pastry too.

Pastizzi Recipe: Pastizzi ta’ l-Irkotta (Cheese cakes) adapted from maltabulb.com

Ingredients

  • 300 grams (or 10.58 oz) ricotta
  • 2 eggs
  • Parsley (finely chopped)
  • 50 grams (or 1.76 oz) grated cheese
  • Egg wash
  • 750 grams (or 1 lb and 10.45 oz) puff pastry
  • Salt & pepper
  • Chopped spinach (optional)

Preparation

Mix well the ricotta, cheese, eggs, parsley and seasoning (can also add chopped, cooked spinach here).

Roll out the puff pastry thinly and cut out circles about 9 cms in diameter. Egg wash the edges. Put some of the ricotta mixture onto each of the circles on one side. Fold the pastry circle in half and seal the edges together. Egg wash and bake in a medium to hot oven for about half an hour or until the pastry is done.

3 responses to “Pastizzi from Malta

  1. wow, those look amazing!!

  2. These are very similar to Rie Rie’s Spanikopita or Tiropita, but with different fillings inside. These look really yummy!

  3. can anyone tell me how many pastizzi’s this recipe makes?

Leave a Reply

