Homemade Mint Sauce

Mint sauce is a house staple in Australian, New Zealand, and English homes as it is the standard accompaniment to roast lamb.

I even found that Heinz makes little sachets of it so that you can have it on the go!  I have yet to see these, but will be keeping my eye out for them.

You can buy mint sauce at the store (in some countries) but it’s expensive and it’s so easy to make your own that it’s worth a try.  I got my boyfriend’s mum’s recipe today so I thought I’d share.

Ingredients

  • 3 heaping tbsp. finely chopped fresh mint
  • 4 heaping tbsp. light brown sugar
  • 3 tbsp boiling water
  • 3 tbsp white vinegar

Preparation

Stir the mint and sugar in a large bowl until mixed.  Add the water and let cool.  Then add the vinegar.  Store for 3 hours before serving.

Serve drizzled over roast lamb and potatoes or any lamb dish!

4 responses to “Homemade Mint Sauce

  1. yum, this looks soo good! And the possibilities of what to put it on are endless!

  2. never been a fan of mint but it’s years since I’ve tried it. As I like onions now & didn’t before, it’s time I tried mint again. Thx and your bottles are so pretty!

  3. That doesnt sound alot at all and it seems very sweet 4 heaping tbsp. light brown sugar and 3 tbsp boiling water. Are you sure this is not 3 cups of water?

  4. I think it should be more vinegar not water, the water is only to dissolve the sugar. but i don’t get how those small amounts make enough to fill those 3 bottles

Leave a Reply

